Friendship Rose

I LOVE my friends. Each and everyone of you, old and new, near and far and virtual!!  A group of friends that’s very dear to my heart are my prayer group friends. We have been getting together and supporting one another spiritually and in friendship since 1995, or at least that’s when I joined them. Those first years together were a difficult time for me, as I was going through a divorce, and these women supported me and helped me and I am forever grateful for their love and kindness. We still get together on a somewhat regular basis…and this past week, Dona handed each of us a rose when we came in her front door. Once in the circle, we each put our rose in the vase, to form a gorgeous bouquet, which represented how each rose is individually beautiful, and when part of the friendship bouquet…magnificent!! I was very moved by this ritual, and brought my rose home to photograph. Here is my friendship rose…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even as roses age, and their petals wrinkle and dry…they hold a beauty that shines from within…wisdom…contentment…what do you find?

 

 

 

 

 

~ by catherineross on February 28, 2010.

4 Responses to “Friendship Rose”

  1. What a beautiful post! I went thru a divorce in 1996 – one of the hardest things I’ve ever been thru – and with 2 small children (4 and 6). I am so happy that you had a support group!

    These pics are STUNNING!

  2. Thanks Kerri!! My daughters were 5 and 7 at the time…and this wonderful group of women were so supportive!

  3. Hi Cathy –

    The concept of the friendship rose and the communal vase is a lovely one and it’s so very nice that you and your friends still gather together over all these years. Knowing support is there when you need it is always comforting.

    The photos of the roses are beautiful. I especially enjoy those bedecked with beads of water perched atop each petal like plumped jewels.

  4. Wonderful story, beautiful ritual and lovely reminder how good things can come from the most challenging times in our lives. (You’ve been meeting since 1995!)

Leave a comment